About Graduate Theory

In 2020 I finished my university degrees in Mathematics and Finance, and in 2021, I started my career.

β€œYou’re not creating if your not first enveloped with passion for your work”
Photo by Jason Strull / Unsplash

As I began, I felt intimidated by the journey ahead. Many hills to climb and rivers to cross.

I felt like I was out in the middle of the ocean, with no clear direction or strategy.

No clue how to get to the places that I wanted to go.

No map to show me the way.

I decided that I wanted to ask for help, to speak to others about their careers and how they managed to get to the places that I wanted to go.

I also felt that my experience wasn't unique. That many others were out there wondering the same thing.

How can I get to where I want to go?

In this process, I began thinking that having these conversations would be a great thing to share. A great way to improve my own communication, but also hopefully a great opportunity to offer value to the community.

Malacca graduates
Photo by Baim Hanif / Unsplash

Careers are non-linear, they are different for everyone. Everyone has different starting points and different goals.

And yet, there are principles that, if followed, will take you from where you want to go, to where you want to be.

These podcast episodes will help you piece those principles together so that you can understand how people get to certain places in their careers. Once you know this, then you can also do the same (but hopefully even better).

Looking Up
Photo by Razvan Chisu / Unsplash

There are many paths you can take after university.

Where you are now doesn't have to be where you will stay.

Learn how to grow your career, and discover what skills you need to continually improve your career and your life.

Welcome to Graduate Theory.

Youtube | Linkedin | Instagram | Podcast


My name is James Fricker. I was born in Adelaide in 1998. I grew up in the eastern suburbs, and I am the oldest child of 3 boys.

I went to primary school at Sunrise Christian School in Fullarton and high school at Concordia College in Highgate. I completed year 12 in 2015.

In 2016 I began studying at the University of Adelaide, and I finished my studies in 2020 with a double degree in Mathematics and Finance.

In 2021 I moved to Melbourne to begin my graduate role as a Technology Graduate.

Outside work, I have many interests.

🎸 I play guitar.

πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ In 2019 I went on a university exchange to Sheffield in the UK.

⚽️ I love soccer and support Adelaide United, Hamburger SV and Sheffield United.

⌨️ I type using the colemak layout.

πŸ’» I have my own website.

πŸ“š I read books.